top of page

The 6 tastes (rasa)

The Ayurvedic diet emphasizes eating whole foods, which contain plenty of essential nutrients and will improve physical and mental health. Beside this, make sure you have your meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) every day approximately at the same time in order to prevent digestion issues. Find out your individual body constitution (prakrithi) with the help of an Ayurvedic practitioner and prepare your food accordingly.

Do not forget to consider daily and seasonal routines to stay in tune with nature’s cycles.

In addition, it is very important that every meal contains all the 6 tastes: sweet, sour, salty, pungent, bitter and astringent. In the slide below, you’ll see:

- the 6 tastes (rasa)

- on which elements (mahabhuta) they are based

- their action on the doshas (karma)

- some concrete examples

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page